Year: 1990

Heading: for baritone solo, chorus, and chamber orchestra

Movement Titles:
I. Kyrie
II. Gloria
III. Credo
IV. Sanctus
V. Agnus Dei

First Performance:
27 June 1990
New York State Theatre, New York, New York
New York City Orchestra and Ballet

Instrumentation: Baritone solo
SATB chorus2.

Duration: 30'

Libretto:  sung in English

Program Note:
Mass is sung in English using the traditional structure of the Ordinary, set in five movements: I. Kyrie, II. Gloria, III. Credo, IV. Sanctus, V. Agnus Dei.

Commissioned by Licoln Kirstein, Mass was originally written for an outdoor ceremony blessing the crypt at the site where a new chapel designed by Philip Johnson would be built. The composition, finished in 1990, was completed before a site was found, and Mr. Kirstein then suggested an indoor performance using the resources of his company, the New York City Ballet, on their stage at the New York State Theater (designed by Mr. Johnson)at Lincoln Center. A simple staging was devised by Peter Martins and Robert LaFosse.