Brick Symphony

Brick Symphony

Year: 1997

Heading: for orchestra

Movement Titles:
I. Heavy, forceful
II. With melancholy
III. Pointed and intense
IV. Fierce and energetic

First Performance:
14 January 1998
Davies Symphony Hall, San Francisco
San Francisco Symphony Orchestra / Alasdair Neale


Duration: 40'

Hints of pop have all but vanished; hints of Beethoven are much stronger. Indeed, there are startling surreal moments in these four movements, when it sounds as though a young Beethoven somehow found himself in the wrong century and was trying to write his music with modern techniques.
—Mark Swed, Los Angeles Times

Program Note: